PHP: After the basics


You know PHP, you’ve learned it yourself or studied about it in your Internet and Web Programming class, you like it. You decided to learn more, you did, you worked on several projects, learned OOP in PHP and are now very good it; but what now? What after this?

I have been at that place. I learned everything that was directly available to be. Introductory books, in-depth books, but after a point i asked “What do i do now? Have i learned enough to call myself an expert in PHP?” Well, the answer was a clear no. I went through dozens of books on PHP that i found in college library. All they did was to confuse me. All of them had different topics, different agenda, they were focused on different groups, in short a mess inside my head. I jumped from one book to another to figure out an answer for what is important, what is not, where to begin and all of those other fundamental questions. It was a tediously long process. Well, guess what, you’ll not have to do all that.

From today onwards, I’ll be writing a series of blog posts to tell how you can be a master at PHP. I’ll cover everything that you should know to be able to create and deploy a large, effective and scalable application. I have divided everything into seven different topics:

  • Introduction, Good and Bad Practice
  • Objects & Object Oriented Programming
  • Patterns
  • Reflection API
  • The Standard PHP Library
  • PEAR
  • Version Control, Testing and Deployment

The fact is that PHP is just not it. Although, each of the topics above is huge on its own, PHP has a lot more to offer which we’ll discuss time to time. We’ll also talk about PHP 6 and some of its new & interesting features.

So, are you ready? I am. I’m very excited about this venture. In my last blog post, i talked about how this is going to be my way of learning. I also talked about the other two fields I’ll be posting regular articles on, Graphic/UI design and Design & Analysis of Algorithms. In my next blog post, I’ll publish the topics list of these two other fields.

If you like the idea, if you are interested in learning along with me, do subscribe to my blog to receive regular updates. You may also follow this blog’s Facebook page where you can post queries, have a discussion, share your ideas and more.

Hope to see you around.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Teknonics/133316236794800

Leave a Reply

